Ranchi Rhinos has won the inaugural Hockey India League by defeating Delhi Waveriders in a very interesting high voltage match by 2-1 at Astroturf Hockey Stadium, Ranchi. 

The Winner Ranchi Rhinos got Rupees 2.5 Crore as prize money and Delhi Waveriders made Rupees 1.25 Crore as runners-up. Uttar Pradesh Wizards finished at third place and they took away Rupees 75 Lakh by defeating Punjab Warriors with 4-3 in another very interesting match on the same day 10 February 2013 at Ranchi.

First Hockey India League (HIL) Summary:

Teams Participated in HIL

Delhi Wave Riders                                                      
Mumbai Magicians
Punjab Warriors 
Ranchi Rhinos
Uttar Pradesh Wizards

Winners (Prize Money Rs. 2.5 Crore): Ranchi Rhinos
Runners-Up (Prize Money: Rs. 1.25 Crore): Delhi Waveriders
Third Place (Prize Money: Rs. 75 Lakh): Uttar Pradesh Wizards

Hero Player of the HIL Tournament (Rs. 2500000): Sardar Singh
Fair-Play Award: Ranchi Rhinos

Ponty Chadha Trophy for Upcoming Player of the Tournament (Rs. 20 Lakh): Mandeep Singh
Airtel Award for Most Goals in the Tournament (Rs. 10 Lakh): Delhi Waveriders


  1. Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an incredibly long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn't appear. Grrrr… well I'm not writing
    all that over again. Anyhow, just wanted to say wonderful blog!

    Feel free to surf to my weblog; michael kors watches


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here